Nineties and Nostalgia

24 May

Oh the 90’s

My childhood.

I still can’t wrap my head around the fact that 1990 was 22 years ago.

I became a teenager in the 90’s

 (granted it wasn’t until 1999, but still….)

From age 4 to age 13 a lot changed.

That decade was one of the best decades in the history of decades.

(of course this is just my personal opinion…..but in my mind I’m right….always)

I was there when Kerri Strug hopped off the mat at the 1996 Olympics to help the US clench gymnastics gold.

I watched Hansel, Tabasco Cat, Thunder Gulch, Silver Charm, Real Quiet, AND Charismatic ALMOST win the Triple Crown.

(Maybe I’ll Have Another will take it this year……seriously, 34 years is long enough).

The first Harry Potter book was released and I was hooked.

I watched Titanic at the Fox Theater in downtown Atlanta.

I watched the Y2K scare come and go.

I suffered through getting on the internet  via dial-up modem.

(bleep, ber bonk, beeeeep, bing bing bing, bleep beeeerroooonnkk, beep)

I remember building forts out of tables, chairs, and sheets with my brother.

I remember being outside with my friends riding bikes down the big hill in front of my house.

******************************************************************************************

The following collage is what was so great about the 90’s

(From the perspective of a pre-teen turned newly-awkward teenager)

All in one place so that I will never forget my childhood.

I hope they bring a smile to your face and a fond memory to mind.

*****************************************************************************************

TV:

   

  

  

    

  

   

   

    

*************************************************************************************************

Toys:

   

  

  

   

  

   

    

   

   

   

 

***************************************************************************************************

Music: Yes, I know I’m missing whole genres, but I was also only 13 at the end of the 90’s…….

  

Wannabe, Spice Up Your Life/I Want You Back/MmmmBop

  

Baby One More Time, Crazy/I Want It That Way/Hands

  

Ironic, Hand in My Pocket/What A Girl Wants/This Kiss

   

Torn/Amazed/Livin’ La Vida Loca

  

I Will Remember You/Kiss Me/That Don’t Impress Me Much, Man! I Feel Like A Woman

  

Cruel Summer/Vision of Love/I Can See Clearly Now

  

When The Lights Go Out/Total Eclipse of the Heart/What Is Love

   

Waiting For Tonight/U Can’t Touch This/Macarena

   

Step By Step/I’ll Be Missing You/Cotton Eye Joe

   

Sex and Candy/Fly Like An Eagle, Kiss From A Rose/Wild Wild West

  

I Don’t Wanna Miss A Thing/ (Everything I Do) I Do It For You/It’s All Been Done

   

All The Small Things, What’s My Age Again/ Save Tonight/Tubthumping

   

Every Day Is A Winding Road/ Come To My Window/Follow You Down

  

Only Wanna Be With You, Time/Smells Like Teen Spirit/Just A Girl

   

Last Kiss/Under The Bridge/Losing My Religion, Man On The moon, Shiny Happy People

  

Closing Time/Walkin’ On The Sun, All Star/Semi-Charmed Life, How’s It Going To Be

Hope you enjoyed that little Thursday Throwback in time!!!

One Response to “Nineties and Nostalgia”

  1. craftcrazygran May 25, 2012 at 8:55 PM #

    Such a nice, happy post!

Let me know what you thought!

THE FORESTER ARTIST

Creating art on the big canvas and the small ones too

ithinkthereforeiamsterdam

Bikes, boats and bitterballen

frugalfeeding

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

caleephotography

Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

Sketchjay

The Art Diary of Dawn Henning, a Brooklyn Artist...

Jenna Emmerich Photography

Memories that last

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

All over Art

Exploring the world of creativity

REFASHIONISTA

Est. 2010

Sky-Watching

the sky is no longer the limit

the eff stop

Adventures of a shutterbug

Franklin and Elisabeth

South Goes West

elizabethprowe

A great WordPress.com site

thebookshackblog

Explore, Connect and Learn!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Photobotos

Things to keep you busy and sane in a small town