Crafts and Completion

16 May

Unfinished business is my craft motto.

I have a HORRIBLE habit of starting something……

and then letting it sit for a year or so before completing it.

But no more!

I have made myself finish everything I’ve started in the past 6 months.

Pinterest has not made it any easier.

It’s like crack for Do-It-Yourselfers.

Seriously.

But anyways- here are all the Pinterest-inspired crafts one post can hold!

Weekly dry-erase calendar!

Acrylic painting of the old house behind ours to remember it by before it gets torn down and Oil painting of our food plot!

       

Let’s see…A swirly metal ring, a permanent family birthday calendar with a cool crackle paint coat on it, and some diapers all wrapped up in a fluffy blanket for the stork to drop off at a baby shower!

   

Measuring utensil hangers and labels! (Made from….get this….paint sticks!!)

     

Fabric hoops and a no-sew pillow cover (before and after)!!

     

These cornhole boards I made for our wedding. And they were a LABOR. of. love.

(Extra emphasis on the labor part)

But SOOOOO worth it!

   

No, I can’t claim that we built this swing…it was actually an amazing wedding gift. But I did have to sand, stain, and seal it. And believe me, that’s a feat in and of itself! But I use it every single day and if you don’t have one, I highly recommend investing in one!

****************************************************************************************************************

I’ve done so well with all the other projects……

But habits do die hard they say…..

This poor baby quilt will probably be done right before I have my own child.

And I’m not pregnant.

10 Responses to “Crafts and Completion”

  1. craftcrazygran May 17, 2012 at 5:42 AM #

    Another craftoholic! I love all of them! Well done on completing soo much. That baby quilt will be gorgeous! I’m hooked on Pinterest too. AND I need 48 hour days! But I’m not complaining! I love being busy! 😉
    Great post!

    • jcsblack May 17, 2012 at 1:01 PM #

      Yes- crafting keeps me sane sometimes 🙂 I love all your your creations as well- certainly has given me some new ideas!

  2. Morgan Motes May 17, 2012 at 5:09 PM #

    I have a quilt that is about as far along as yours! It’s Clemson colors too 🙂

    • jcsblack May 17, 2012 at 5:12 PM #

      baha- love it! Put a pic up- I wanna see!! And we need to get together asap- sorry we couldn’t make it to the game the other weekend- did yall end up going??

      • Morgan Motes May 17, 2012 at 5:38 PM #

        Yea it was a blast! Do ya’ll ever go on the river?

      • jcsblack May 17, 2012 at 5:46 PM #

        I think he ended up having to work that weekend. He’s headed to Santee this weekend for a bachelor party so at least he’ll get to go out on the water. We need to all plan a weekend on the lake or something 🙂

  3. newtonnj June 10, 2012 at 5:01 AM #

    Love the cornhole boards with the deer. Where did you get the pattern? I would like to paint ours that way.

    • jcsblack June 10, 2012 at 1:17 PM #

      Thanks! I actually freehanded them both. I made the general pattern in Word before I started by layering filled in rectangles and rounded rectagles on each other. I bought a window decal of the Browning Buck and then drew it lightly in pencil before going over it with black paint. The good thing ism that if you mess up, it’s not the end of the world. You can just got over the places that need fixing with the base paint once the buck dries. The doe board I just had to make up as I went 🙂 Hope that helps! If you’d like more detailed instructions, let me know and I’ll e-mail them!

  4. Anna September 24, 2012 at 1:07 AM #

    Are u still maken cornhole boards? I really,really love the browning 1!!!

    • jcsblack September 25, 2012 at 8:45 AM #

      Thanks! I only made the two pairs for my wedding but who knows, maybe I’ll turn it into a side business one day!

Let me know what you thought!

THE FORESTER ARTIST

Creating art on the big canvas and the small ones too

ithinkthereforeiamsterdam

Bikes, boats and bitterballen

frugalfeeding

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

caleephotography

Smile! The world is a beautiful place (^_^)

Sketchjay

The Art Diary of Dawn Henning, a Brooklyn Artist...

Jenna Emmerich Photography

Memories that last

boy with a hat

writing as a way of life

All over Art

Exploring the world of creativity

REFASHIONISTA

Est. 2010

Sky-Watching

the sky is no longer the limit

the eff stop

Adventures of a shutterbug

Franklin and Elisabeth

South Goes West

elizabethprowe

A great WordPress.com site

thebookshackblog

Explore, Connect and Learn!

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Photobotos

Things to keep you busy and sane in a small town